Black Coffee wins big at the Dance Music Awards

by: Terry Simelane-Mathabathe - 27 September 2018

Black Coffee wins big at the Dance Music Awards

The Dance Music Awards winners are out

The awards ceremony for South Africa’s awards for house, gqom and EDM music took place on Wednesday night. After weeks of public online voting, the winners of the 2nd official Dance Music Awards South Africa were announced at a prestigious closed ceremony in Boksburg.

Created to acknowledge and honour the accomplishments and contributions of South African dance music artists, the Dance Music Awards South African aims to award the hard working, publicly-recognised individuals who are pushing boundaries and driving South Africa’s thriving dance music industry forward.

Dance Music Awards SA

International success, Black Coffee, was a big winner walking away with two awards for Best International DJ and Best International Producer. The ‘Pioneers of Dance Award’, an award that pays homage and gives recognition to a legendary dance music contributor was also announced at this year’s ceremony. DJ Ganyani, walked away with this accolade.

Other winners include, Lady Zamar, Black Motion and Distruction Boyz. Here is a full list of the winners:

Best Male DJ


Best Female DJ

Lady Sakhe

Best Producer


Best Live Act

Black Motion

Best Festival

Spring Fiesta

Best Music Video (From Dance Artist)

Sun-EL Musician – Sonini feat. Simmy & Lelo Kamau

Best Male Vocalist of the Year


Best Female Vocalist of the Year

Lady Zamar

Best Record Label

House Afrika Records

Compilation of The Year

House Afrika Mzansi House Vol.7

Album of The Year

Da Capo – Indigo Child

Remix of The Year

Hans Seance – Elanora (KaySoul Remix)
Best International DJ

Black Coffee

Best International Producer

Black Coffee

Promoter of the Decade

Jsik Bouhbot

Best Club Night / Night Club

Truth Night Club

Best House Record of the Year

DJ Ganyani Ft. Nomcebo – Emazulwini

Best Gqom Record of the Year

Distruction Boyz- Omunye

Pioneers of House Award

Ganyani “Master G”

Best EDM Record of the Year

Cinimin – You & Me ft. Amy Jones

Best Underground Record of the Year

Dwson – Luna

Best Dance Radio Show Award

Urban Beat – Metro FM